The republics of Esthonia, Latvia and Lithuania were admitted to the League, bringing the membership of the League to 51 States. The states still outside of the League are as follows: United States, Germany, Russia, Turkey, Egypt, Hungary, Ecuador, Mexico.

Among the matters which were considered at the second meeting of the Assembly were the troubles of Poland and Lithuania, the controversy between Bolivia and Chile, the proposals for the relief of the starving population of Soviet Russia, the international traffic in women and children and the matter of expenses. As regards the latter it was decided that, subject to ratification by the Governments, Great Britain and France should each pay 90 units towards the expenses of the League, China, India, Italy and Japan 65 units each, Canada and various other countries 35 units each, other smaller states paying less, until the minimum is reached with Albania, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Siberia, Luxemburg, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay and Salvador, paying 2 units each. Under this revision of the apportionment of expenses Canada's contribution is substantially reduced.

The League of Nations Society of Canada.—At a meeting held in Ottawa on May 31, 1921, the League of Nations Society of Canada was formed. The Governor-General of Canada presided, and such prominent leaders in Canadian public life as Sir Robert Borden, Sir George Foster, Hon. Dr. Béland and others were present.

The following resolution was carried unanimously: "that the meeting proceed to the organization of the League of Nations Society of Canada with the following objects: (1) to promote international peace; (2) to furnish information about the League of Nations, its principles, its organization and its work; (3) to study international problems and Canada's relations thereto as a member of the British Commonwealth and the League of Nations; (4) to foster mutual understanding, goodwill, and habits of co-operation between the people of Canada and other countries, in accordance with the spirit of the League of Nations; (5) to promote the establishment of provincial or local associations, clubs, or other bodies having like objects, and to co-operate with any existing organization for such purposes."

The following officers were elected: honorary presidents: Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen, Hon. (now Rt. Hon.) W. L. Mackenzie King, and Hon. T. A. Crerar; president, Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Borden; vicepresidents, the Lieutenant-governors of Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Manitoba, British Columbia, Prince Edward Island, Saskatchewan, Alberta, Rt. Hon. Sir George Foster, Rt. Hon. C. J. Doherty, Hon. N. W. Rowell, Hon. Dr. Béland; honorary secretary, Vincent C. Massey; honorary treasurer, A. J. Brown.

Dominion General Election.—On September 21, 1921, the Right Hon. Arthur Meighen announced the reconstruction of his Cabinet, and shortly afterwards the dissolution of the Thirteenth Parliament took place. At the general election of December 6, 1921, the Government was defeated, retaining only 50 seats. The Liberals,